Make Your Own BCAA Slushies

Leave a comment

August 30, 2016 by Lauren Grider


It has been so hot this year, and with clean eating comes missing out on a summertime favorite of mine – sno cones. I broke down and had one at Mayhem on the Mountain earlier this month, but otherwise I’ve been able to steer clear. There’s just something about that crushed ice and sugar that makes my heart sing. It is actually the sugar lighting up the reward centers in my brain *1, but I digress. The struggle is real, though. 

BCAAs are branched chain amino acids, and supplementing them promotes gains in lean muscle mass, fat loss, and post-workout recovery. *2 You will note below that I also added trans alanyl glutamine to my slushie. Trans alanyl glutamine supports weight loss and glucose metabolism *3. It also anecdotally suppresses sugar and carbohydrate cravings, which I find to be true for me. 

Anyway, recently I heard that Absolute Nutrition was offering BCAA slushies, so I swung by to give them a try. These are an excellent substitute for sno cones! Cold and refreshing, and they get those BCAAs down the hatch, which for me is tough. Sometimes the BCAA formulas taste… weirdly sweet. But the slushie as a vehicle is genius. The only problem is that I have time to drive over to the store maybe once a week if I’m lucky. Tonight I really needed to get my BCAAs in, and I really needed something cold and refreshing, so I broke out my blender and got my own slushie recipe together. Here we go. 

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups ice cubes

1/2 cup water

1 10 g scoop BCAA powder (I used grape flavored TRI-PEP by Metabolic Nutrition)

1 10 g scoop trans alanyl glutamine (I used T.A.G. by Metabolic Nutrition)

Mix together in blender and serve. 


Sources:

1. Avena et al., Evidence for Sugar Addiction: Behavioral and neurochemical effects of intermittent, excessive sugar intake, Neuroscience and biobehavioral reviews, 2007.

2. Huntington College of Health Sciences, A Primer on Branched Chain Amino Acids, 2009.

3. Laviano et al., Glutamine supplementation favors weight loss in non-dieting obese female patients, European Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 2014.

Leave a Reply

