Whole Life Challenge: Open-Faced Sloppy Joes

Leave a comment

January 18, 2016 by Lauren Grider

I’ve just started another round of the Whole Life Challenge, and as always I plan to keep the site updated with my progress and, of course, food! So, a brief recap: I had a complete thyroidectomy in August to treat my Hashimoto’s thyrotoxicosis (a rare form of autoimmune hyperthyroidism). The surgery made me feel dramatically better, and other than my bitchin’ throat-slash scar (great for Halloween), I am fully recovered. I’m back to full strength and have even set several big PRs since my surgery: back squat 260 lb, front squat 185 lb, overhead squat 120 lb, deadlift 355 lb. I’m back to teaching Zumba, but limiting myself to once a week while I focus on other goals. I will be deadlifting in a team competition with Crossfit Impulse on Jan 30th! For this reason, the first two weeks of the Whole Life Challenge will be only about cleaning up my diet, not dropping major weight. I need to try to pull my PR of 355 lb on competition day.

But that’s enough about me- let’s get to the food. Today is a really easy one, and I didn’t do step-by-step pictures because, honestly, you all know how to brown meat in a skillet. I mean really.

Open-Faced Paleo Sloppy Joes

Ingredients:

2 lb ground sausage – Ensure your sausage has a clean label. Clean label = meat and spices only, no sugar or other crap. I used the hot Italian sausage from Earth Fare, which is house-made. If your local grocery store doesn’t have one with a clean label, never fear! You can make your own easily.

15 oz organic tomato sauce

1 tsp ground cumin

salt to taste

1 tbsp coconut oil

paleo coconut bread – I got mine from Liberated Specialty Foods in Madison, AL. The ingredients are just coconut, egg, salt and apple cider vinegar.

Heat coconut oil in a cast iron skillet and brown the 2 lbs of sausage. Add the cumin, salt, and the tomato sauce and let simmer to desired thickness. Serve on paleo bread of your choice (or go naked!) and garnish with avocado.

Yeah, that’s it. It was fantastic.

Here’s my open-faced paleo sloppy joe! Shown here with sweet potato oven fries. It made a nice pre-workout meal. 🙂

* Please note that I am playing the Whole Life Challenge at the Lifestyle (Intermediate) level, so always double check the ingredient list if you are on the strictest level. 🙂

* Don’t assume that I’m only eating the amount shown in the photos. I usually eat way more.

* Unfortunately, my blog is not an ad-free space. Please be aware that I have no control over the ads posted on this page. Not gonna lie- sometimes they are sketchy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

