WLC Weeks 2-4: Super Clean Chili

Leave a comment

June 8, 2014 by Lauren Grider

The past few weeks have been very hectic for me, both professionally and personally. I haven’t had any one major issue, but I have had a lot of trouble managing all of the little day-to-day life problems. Everyone goes through the same thing from time to time. I’ve found the best way to handle it is to let some things ride for a while: therefore, no blog posts in the past few weeks. I think I’m starting to come out of it now, but recently writing a blog post has been beyond my capabilities. I have perfectionist tendencies, and it adds immeasurable stress to think of completing a project that I have not spent significant time refining. This goes for Zumba routines, blog posts, housework, and the list goes on. Sometimes I get stuck in this mindset of nothing being good enough, and I’ve found so far the best way to deal with it is to “just say no” to those things that are causing the stress until the feeling passes. 

At any rate, the Whole Life Challenge has been going well. I put on a pair of size 14 pants for the first time since college! Almost my entire wardrobe is too big now. My next big project is cleaning out my closet and donating everything that I can’t wear anymore. My suspicion is that once I do this, I will have twice the closet space I currently have!

The longer I do the Whole Life Challenge, the more I’m able to fall back on a routine as this lifestyle becomes more of a habit. Building these tendencies is an ongoing process and takes a while, but being in a routine is invaluable when life gets hectic. It can mean the difference between forging ahead and throwing in the towel. The past few weeks have been difficult, but I have been able to escape with minimal damage due to good habits. 

Super Clean Chili

Ingredients:
1 lb grass fed ground beef
1/4 cup diced yellow onion
1 tbsp cumin
1 tsp ground mustard
1/2 tsp House Seasoning
1/2 tsp dried oregano
15 oz can organic diced tomatoes (no sugar on ingredient list)
1 tbsp coconut oil

Place a cast iron skillet over medium heat and melt the healthy fat. Add diced onion and cook until translucent.

20140608-120855-43735504.jpg
Add ground beef and seasonings.

20140608-121141-43901729.jpg
Stir frequently until ground beef is browned. Add the diced tomatoes and reduce heat to low.

20140608-121259-43979028.jpg
Simmer until a thick consistency is achieved.

20140608-121445-44085182.jpg

20140608-121508-44108512.jpg

Leave a Reply

