WLC Days 5-8: Roasted Turkey Legs

Leave a comment

May 12, 2014 by Lauren Grider

The end of this week flew by. On Wednesday, I went to Crossfit Impulse. WOD: 3 rounds for time of 400 meter run followed by 15 incline pushups (bronze): 10:31 with a 34″ incline for pushups. Then, 5 chest to bar pullups every minute on the minute for 10 minutes (banded: green, blue and red). On Thursday night, I taught Zumba. Friday and Saturday were both active rest days for me. Our big Open House event at Animal Medical Clinic was this weekend, and I survived without eating any of the tempting goodies. Let me tell you, it was tough, because some of the refreshment trays contained my old favorites- cookies, brownies and doughnuts. None for me!

On Thursday night, I made phenomenal roasted turkey legs. Hubs Jason is usually all ‘meh’ when I cook compliant meals. I was running late, so I popped the turkey legs in the oven and told him to take them out when the timer went off. When I got home from teaching the late class, he had eaten 2 of the three legs! They truly were delicious, and I ate mine right up along with some sweet potato.

Roasted Turkey Legs

Ingredients
turkey legs
house seasoning
coconut oil, 1 tbsp per leg

20140511-192048.jpg

Yes, that’s it. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Add turkey legs to a roasting dish (I used a casserole dish) and season with house seasoning on all sides.

20140511-192128.jpg

Add about 1 tablespoon of coconut oil per turkey leg. I put the coconut oil on top of each leg- I don’t know if this matters. Remember, don’t skimp on the fat. It tastes good, makes you feel full, and fat won’t make you fat!

Roast in a 350 degree oven for 1 hour and 30 minutes.

20140511-193916.jpg

Bam!

Leave a Reply

