WLC Days 3 & 4: Cooking for Company with Chipotle Steak and Strawberry Mango Jalapeño Salsa

Leave a comment

May 8, 2014 by Lauren Grider

20140507-231206.jpg

Things have been going well so far. I forgot to meditate yesterday, so I lost a point. 😦 Otherwise, I’m happy.

On Monday I went to Crossfit Impulse: 15 minutes to find a max weight of the complex hang squat clean + hang power clean + split jerk: 85 lb. Then, 10 minute AMRAP of 5 wall balls, 5 hang power cleans, 10 wall balls, 5 hang power cleans, 15 wall balls, 5 hang power cleans, etc: 87 reps at 12 lb wall ball and 85 lb hang power clean. I have trouble cleaning from the hang position, so this is definitely something I need to work on.

On Tuesday, I went back to CFI because I won’t be able to go on Saturday. Our veterinary hospital is having an open house, so I’ll be busy all day. I didn’t want to miss out on one of my visits this week, so I decided to try doubling up. I usually teach Zumba on Tuesday nights, and this was no exception. The WOD was all strength work, so I felt okay teaching Zumba afterward. I definitely won’t make a habit of this, though, because I was exhausted by the time I got home. 12 minutes to find a max of the complex squat snatch + 2 overhead squats: 65 lb (PR both squat snatch and overhead squat by 10 lb). Then, 12 minutes to find a 3 RM front squat: 125 lb. I was very happy with this WOD because of the snatch/OHS PR and because my 3 RM front squat was equal to the one I established just before my ankle injury. To me, it is a good indication that things are starting to get back to normal. I have struggled with a lot of WODs since returning from my broken ankle because a lot of my strength seemed to be gone. I’d been forced to rest for 8 weeks, lost a good bit of weight, and been put into an ankle brace, all of which greatly altered my balance, flexibility and stance. It feels good to get back into the zone.

Cooking for Company: Chipotle Steak and Strawberry Mango Salsa

Because of the upcoming open house for our animal hospital, I had some coworkers over to my house tonight to prepare some goodie bags and signs. And, I served dinner. Everyone is doing Whole Life Challenge together! This was my first time cooking for a group of strict whole food eaters.

I perused the grocery meat counter and produce section. Top round beef was on sale. On the produce end, mangos and organic strawberries were a great deal. Perfect! I decided to take tried-and-true favorites and combine them for a different take on burrito bowls. Everything came out great!

Spicy “Chipotle” Steak
and
Strawberry, Mango and Jalapeño Salsa

20140507-231206.jpg

20140507-232009.jpg

Leave a Reply

