WLC Day 2: Five Spice Tuna Steak with Curried Cauliflower Rice

Leave a comment

May 6, 2014 by Lauren Grider

20140505-222108.jpg

Whole Life Challenge Day 2 went pretty well. It was an active rest day for me. However, it was a huge shopping day. Huge. We ran the Costco / Kroger gauntlet and came home with some good finds. The first time I went to Costco on WLC, I was super happy because of all of the compliant items I found. This time was just okay. A few months ago, they had both grass fed (Kerrygold) butter and grass fed ground beef. This time, they had neither. I was told the Kerrygold butter is a seasonal item. Lame. It was an incredible deal while it lasted, though, because it came in a box of 3 bricks (equal to two normal sticks of butter) for about $7. At the regular store, 1 brick is $4. Anyway, we did stock up on Wholly Guacamole, pecans and some watermelon. At Kroger, I found some great sashimi-grade tuna steaks on sale, so I snapped those right up and took them home for dinner.

I love tuna steaks, but it is really tough to find good ones for a reasonable price around here. When I do find them, I love to use a soy sauce and honey marinade and put it on a bed of rice: very non-compliant. And, I was out of my favorite soy sauce substitute, coconut aminos. Scratch that idea. Next I remembered wasabi, but quickly noticed all the artificial ingredients on the label. Crap.

Finally, I took a look all through my fridge and pantry to see what was available. I found cauliflower, a good rice substitute, coconut milk, curry, ginger… now we’re getting somewhere. I made something up, and it was really fantastic. Sometimes when I’m extremely hungry, I think everything is fantastic, but I think this was for real.

Five Spice Tuna Steak with Curried Cauliflower Rice

Ingredients

1 tsp coconut oil per serving
tuna steaks (sashimi grade if you want it rare in the middle)
five spice seasoning, to taste
dried cilantro, to taste
house seasoning, to taste
1/4 head of cauliflower per serving, riced (using a food processor or grater)
1/4 cup coconut milk per serving
1/2 tsp yellow curry powder per serving
1/8 tsp powdered ginger per serving
1 tsp green curry paste per serving (check ingredients on label)
5 fresh basil leaves per serving, sliced

First, prepare the cauliflower. Wash the head of cauliflower and remove the leaves and tough parts of the stem. “Rice” the cauliflower. A food processor comes in handy for this, I hear. I don’t have one, though. A cheese grater works just fine. It makes a mess though.

20140505-222720.jpg

Next, prepare the tuna steaks. Coat with coconut oil and season on both sides with a generous dusting of house seasoning, cilantro and five spice seasoning.

20140505-222809.jpg

Cook on stovetop in a hot cast iron skillet, getting a good sear on all sides. Traditionally, this type of tuna is served rare, but if you aren’t using sashimi grade tuna, you need to cook it through.

20140505-222321.jpg

Remove the steaks from heat and set aside. Add the riced cauliflower to the same cast iron skillet and cook until soft, adding the coconut milk, curry powder, ginger and curry paste. Add basil leaves and stir just before serving.

20140505-222435.jpg

To serve, place the tuna steak on top of a serving of cauliflower.

20140505-222108.jpg

Leave a Reply

