Baby Back Ribs with Paleo BBQ Sauce

Leave a comment

April 24, 2014 by Lauren Grider

20140423-212325.jpg

I’ve never made ribs before, and they were on sale, so I wanted to give it a try. One problem: I don’t have a smoker. The reasons are numerous- space, money, time- and I thought this made preparing ribs at home impossible. Then, I came across a recipe for cooking ribs in the oven and finishing them off on the grill. Perfect!

It still takes a long time, though. The recipe I found recommended cooking the ribs at 350 degrees for 2 hours and then 10-15 minutes on a medium heat grill. So, I put the ribs in at around 4:30 this afternoon. Problem: Hubby would be home late, so there wouldn’t be anyone to keep an eye on the oven while I went to Crossfit. Since my childhood home was lost in a fire, I don’t take any chances. So, I let them roast at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes, then I turned the heat off and left them in the warm oven while I went to WOD. When I returned home at around 6:15, I reheated the oven to 350 degrees and let them cook for about another 30 minutes while I got the grill ready.

Today at Crossfit Impulse, we warmed up with an 800 meter indian run using a 10 lb ball. Then, we were given 12 minutes to establish an 8 rep max back squat with instruction to attempt a 5-10 lb improvement over our previously established 8 rep max. I performed: 10 reps with the bar only, 8 reps at 65 lb, 5 reps at 85 lb, 5 reps at 105 lb, 3 reps at 125 lb, and established an 8 rep max of 130lb, a 5 lb improvement over my previous 8 rep max. Then, we rowed 2,000 meters for time: 8:53.

Baby Back Ribs with Paleo BBQ Sauce

Ingredients for the Ribs
1 rack of pork ribs, cut in half
house seasoning, approx 2 tbsp
essence seasoning, approx 2 tbsp

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place ribs on a sheet of heavy duty aluminum foil. Season on both sides liberally with house and essence seasonings.

20140423-205137.jpg

Fold aluminum around ribs to make air-tight packets. Place on a baking sheet and place in the oven. Allow to cook at 350 degrees for 2 hours.

20140423-205120.jpg

While you wait, make the BBQ Sauce.

Ingredients for Quick-and-Dirty Paleo BBQ Sauce
1 can of organic tomato paste (no sugar on ingredient list)
2 tbsp hot water
1 tbsp raw local honey
1/8 cup coconut aminos
1/8 cup white vinegar
1/2 tsp house seasoning
1 tsp essence seasoning
20 drops of Frank’s original hot sauce (no sugar on ingredient list)

Combine all ingredients and mix well.

20140423-205106.jpg

While the ribs are finishing up in the oven, get the grill ready.

20140423-205051.jpg

Remove ribs from the oven and grill over medium heat, basting with BBQ sauce, 10 to 15 minutes or until sauce is thickened and grill marks are sufficient.

20140423-204950.jpg

Here’s my dinner: 3 ribs and a spinach salad with strawberries, pecans, and goat cheese, dressed with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

20140423-204938.jpg

Leave a Reply

