Easy Mini Meatloaves

4

April 15, 2014 by Lauren Grider

Tonight I was starving when I got home, and I was craving meatloaf, so I improvised. I had some grass fed ground beef and organic canned tomatoes, so I threw them together, and it came out pretty damn well.

Before I cooked, though, I went to Crossfit Impulse: 15 minutes to establish a 2 rep max squat clean and jerk: 75 lb. I am struggling with my squat clean since recovering from my ankle injury. I also struggled with my split jerk tonight, which used to be one of my favorite exercises. I think it has to do with ankle mobility to some degree, but I can also tell I’ve lost a lot of raw strength since my injury. People tell me that it returns quickly, but so far I am a bit discouraged. Then, 15 minutes to establish an 8 rep max back squat: 125 lb. This I was reasonably pleased with, since it is 60% of my 1 rep max of 205 which I established before my injury. And, this was actually a PR, as I previously established a 5 rep max of 125 in January.

In other news, I bought some Pendlay Do-Win weightlifting shoes, and I can tell a big difference with the olympic lifts. I will not go back to wearing regular sneakers for heavy lifting, and that’s after just one strength WOD in them.

Anyway, these mini meatloaves aren’t the prettiest thing I’ve ever made, but they really hit the spot. They were moist and flavorful. The only thing I’d change is making them a little bigger. The only muffin tin I own has 12 cups, and I can tell you from previous experience that if you leave some of the cups empty, they smoke and make the whole house smell. So, I made 12 very small meatloaves rather than 6 reasonably-sized ones. At any rate, if you make bigger ones, obviously you’ll need to adjust the time.

And since I’m now thoroughly paranoid about the serving sizes depicted on my blog, please know that I ate 6 of these, and that the fancy title picture is 3 of them smashed together.

20140414-223443.jpg

Paleo Mini Meatloaves

Ingredients:
1 lb grass fed ground beef
1 15 oz can organic diced tomatoes (no sugar)
salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder to taste
15 drops of Frank’s original hot sauce (no sugar)

20140414-223453.jpg

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix together with hands. Form the mixture into balls and place in your muffin tin. See above re: 12 vs 6 cups. Bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. See? I said it was easy.

20140414-223443.jpg

4 thoughts on “Easy Mini Meatloaves

    • Rosie says:

      I got on this via you BBQ rib picture, which looks delicious btw. In germany we call these mini meatolaves Frikadellen. Yes you should make them a little bigger, shape them with your hands into litlle loveves approx. the size of a hambuger patty (but not quite as flat) as flat, and then you can set them in a regular baking dish or a cookie sheet. No muffin tins required. Another variation is to make them with freshly chopped herbs and a piece of Feta cheese in the middle.

  1. Rosie says:

    evidently I have a problem spelling the word “loaf”

Leave a Reply

