Whole Life Challenge Summary: lost 12.25 inches and 29 lbs, improved workout by 19 reps.

Leave a comment

March 11, 2014 by Lauren Grider

I’ve officially finished the Whole Life Challenge, and I am really pleased with the results. I am down 12.25 inches and 29 lbs in 8 weeks of clean eating. My workout improved by 19 reps. I have blown right through that stupid plateau that I struggled with for my last 1.5 years of Weight Watchers. I forgot to record my score for a day during the last week of the challenge, and this knocked me out of first place on the Crossfit Impulse team. 😦 At least I didn’t lose the points by eating a bunch of crap, right? As it is, I came in 3rd place on CFI’s team overall. I placed 1st in inches lost and 2nd in workout improvement on CFI’s team.

With the conclusion of the challenge, my total weight loss from February 2011 through today is 84 lbs. I have no idea how many inches I’ve lost because I neglected to take starting measurements in 2011, for which I cannot express my level of irritation. Because I haven’t just lost 84 pounds of “weight.” I’ve significantly increased my muscle mass and lowered my body fat percentage. I have weighed what I weigh now before, back in college, and I was in a completely different (higher) jean size. I’ve mentioned before how the scale is a poor measure of progress. Anyway… here’s a photo of the final results (below). Now, everyone’s thinking, is this the end? No, it’s definitely the beginning. I am definitely signing up for the next Whole Life Challenge, which begins in May. Who wants to do it with me?

Everyone also deserves an injury update: I am back to teaching Zumba 2-3 days a week at 90% effort. Today I attended my first Crossfit group class since my injury: 20 minutes to work up to a 1 rep max squat clean: 105 lb. Then, perform a 20 (yes, twenty) rep max back squat: 105 lb. I’m pretty pleased with that for my first day back.

20140310-224147.jpg

Leave a Reply

