WLC Day 31: Injury Workouts and Spicy Grilled Chicken

Leave a comment

February 10, 2014 by Lauren Grider

Today was a snow day, which was fortunate, since I really needed to rest. I went to work yesterday, which was probably a mistake, and I was on my leg way too much for my own good. I did get to prop it up and ice it for an hour or so at the end of the day, but by the time I got home, I was seriously painful. Today has been good. As long as I stay off of the leg, I have no pain. The problem with the snow day was that my appointment with the orthopedist was cancelled. Now I’ll go on Thursday morning (hopefully). So, I’m still in the removable boot when moving around and icing/ace bandaging when resting, as prescribed by the ER doctor. Today there is impressive swelling and a rainbow bruising effect. Tomorrow is my day off, and with more snow moving in, I’ll be able to lay around again, which is the best medicine for now.

However, I have to remain active and do something to keep up my strength and cardio conditioning. I spent a good part of the day researching working out with lower limb injuries, and I found a surprising array of information, both good and bad, inspirational and disappointing.

There’s this chick who carried on despite her broken foot and learned to WOD in her boot.

Then, there’s this worrisome article about how going on workout hiatus, even for injury recovery, carries a high risk of weight gain, and that weight is more difficult to lose once the athlete returns to full ability.

The consequences of quitting exercise may be greater than previously thought, according to a new study that determined that the weight gained during an exercise hiatus can be tough to shed when exercise is resumed at a later date.

I will of course discuss appropriate levels of activity with my orthopedist, and I plan to request physical therapy since it helped so much with my rotator cuff problem, but after reading for the better part of the day, I definitely feel that getting back to being active sooner rather than later is imperative. So, today I did my first Injury WOD. Warmup: passthroughs and around the worlds (with a broom handle since I don’t have a pvc pipe at home), shoulder mobility, wrist rolls. WOD: TABATA incline pushups at the kitchen counter, keeping my injured leg raised and out of the way. The injured leg was not involved in any way, and absolutely no pain resulted from my workout. For those unfamiliar with TABATA workouts, we are talking about a form of high intensity interval training (HIIT) that involves 20 second periods of intense effort followed by 10 seconds of rest for 8 total round (4 minutes). Low score: 10. High score: 12. Total reps: 87. Then, I mobilized with a foam roller (back, quads, hamstrings, glutes, and “good” ankle). Again, the injured ankle was in no way involved. Just getting my heart rate up for this WOD made me feel better. šŸ™‚

Clean eating is still incredibly important, and I have redoubled my efforts to stay on point with my food choices. Thank goodness I am already in the middle of the Whole Life Challenge, or I would definitely be struggling. There’s no way I would be able to handle “carb flu” symptoms along with the broken ankle. Things have a way of just working out.

I am the main cook in our household, but my injury has required Jason to step in, and he is doing a fantastic job. In fact, he handled the vegetable portion of dinner by himself, and everything came out great! I grilled the chicken. We had to do a little bit of rearranging to make grilling in a boot work, since our kitchen and grill have about 16 stairs between them. Luckily, I was able to go downstairs inside and get a small staging area set up in the basement, then walk back and forth between the grill and the couch while the chicken cooked. Jason helped me carry the chicken and supplies.

Spicy Grilled Chicken

Ingredients
large package of chicken pieces (I used drumsticks)
spices to taste: salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder
healthy fat of your preference: coconut oil or butter
Frank’s Red Original Hot Sauce (no sugar added)

20140212-000511.jpg

Light the grill and prepare the chicken. Arrange raw chicken on a platter and season liberally with salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. Place over indirect heat and grill for approximately 30 to 40 minutes or until juices run clear. While the chicken is cooking, make your spicy buffalo sauce by mixing the healthy fat of your choice with Frank’s Red Hot Sauce to taste. During the last 5 minutes of cooking, baste on both sides with your buffalo sauce. It’s that easy.

20140212-000535.jpg

Leave a Reply

