WLC 23 and 24: Halfway There! (and “Spaghetti” with Meat Sauce)

Leave a comment

February 6, 2014 by Lauren Grider

I have officially passed the halfway point in the Whole Life Challenge! After going through this month, I feel like I can keep going another month easily. It’s not that I don’t miss cheese. Oh, cheese! But, this is totally doable. When I reach the end of the challenge, I anticipate a love/hate relationship with my newfound freedom. I’m going to have to come up with some serious strategies to keep everything under control until the next WLC rolls around. My iphone crashed, and I lost my before photo. šŸ˜¦ But, I’m thinking I can use some recent snapshots as a reference point.

On Monday, I went to Crossfit Impulse. WOD: Crossfit Open 13.2. 10 minute AMRAP of 5 push press @ 75 lb, 10 deadlifts @ 75 lb, and 15 box jumps @ 20″. RX baby! 123 reps. I don’t have the words to fully convey my satisfaction at performing this WOD RX. I’ve just recently gotten comfortable enough with 20″ box jumps to do them as part of a WOD. Booyah!

Yesterday, I got an emergency Zumba sub request, so I headed to the Hogan Family YMCA for class last night. I introduced a routine to Headbandz by B.O.B., but it bombed- I’m guessing because I had to use the instrumental version with the hook only. The real version, even edited, is just too dirty to play at the Y. I worry that the popularity of satellite radio and the unedited hip hop stations has made it way too easy to put out a hit record without a reasonable radio-safe alternative.

“Spaghetti” and Meat Sauce

Ingredients
1 lb ground beef
1 slice pork belly, roughly chopped (to flavor the sauce, optional)
8 oz tomato sauce (no sugar added)
1 can tomato paste (no sugar added)
1/2 of a small yellow onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
oregano to taste
cayenne pepper to taste
salt to taste
black pepper to taste
onion salt to taste
2 tbsp coconut oil, divided

Melt 1 tbsp coconut oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the diced onions, stirring until soft. Add the garlic, stirring until fragrant. Add the ground beef and pork belly and cook until beef is browned. Add the tomato sauce and tomato paste, stirring well and reducing heat to low. Add oregano, salt, black pepper, onion salt and cayenne pepper, stirring well. (I used approximately 1 tsp oregano, 2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp onion salt, and 2 dashes of cayenne pepper.) The longer everything simmers on low, the more flavor will develop. Is it just me, or is photographing cooking ground beef and making it look delicious really hard?

20140205-223844.jpg

While the sauce is simmering, julienne 2 large zucchini squash. Melt 1 tbsp coconut oil in a pot over medium-low heat and add the julienned zucchini. Watch this carefully, as there is a fine line between al dente “pasta” and mushy squash pieces. Use a fork to carefully separate and turn the zucchini pieces until they are uniformly steamed. Then remove from heat, top with the sauce and serve immediately.

20140205-223935.jpg

Leave a Reply

