WLC Day 19, 20, and 21: Are there any good jeans anymore?

Leave a comment

February 2, 2014 by Lauren Grider

Ah, the end of the week. So much to do, but so little time. On Thursday, I worked and taught Zumba at the Hogan Family YMCA in the evening. On Friday, I worked and came home and crashed. I was so tired! This has happened two Fridays in a row. I’m not sure what to think about that. Veterinary case of the week: 87 lb yellow Lab who ingested an entire container of white nail polish. She’s ok.

On Saturday, I got up and went to Crossfit Impulse. WOD: 15 minutes to establish a 3RM back squat: 175 lb. Then, complete a 1 minute AMRAP at 70% of that weight: 125 lb, 8 reps. Finally, complete 20 GHRs (assisted) and 30 GHD sit-ups (scaled).

I did make some delicious food, but I was lazy and didn’t take pictures, and I worry that no one cares for recipes that don’t come with pictures. Or maybe that’s just me. Anyway, last night I made some awesome chili, and I’m eating the leftovers right now.

20140202-130042.jpg

Here’s the problem I have: I just want some normal jeans. When I was in highschool, I swear I could go into any store and find a variety of regular jeans without spandex. Not so much anymore. I understand that this has been in fashion for a while, but not everyone looks good in these! In particular, I have a proportion problem. My legs, especially my calves and quads, are muscular and, well, huge. I have huge calves and quads, and they look ridiculous in jeans with spandex, like I’ve got on denim running tights from mid-thigh to calf, and then a weird ankle flare. The other problem is that the leg circumference in the calf area does not seem to improve much with increased sizes, so when I get to the point that I find a reasonable fit in the calf area, by the end of the day the waist is falling down, even with a belt, and the seat is pretty darn unflattering. Also, any amount of sitting down results in hilarious “knee points” that protrude even when I’m standing up, like shoulder points on a sweater that’s been hung on an undersized coathanger. I know I used to find regular old denim jeans, my favorite being the classic GAP button-fly bootcut circa 1998, but I fear I will never find anything like this again. Can anyone help me out with a recommendation?

20140202-130718.jpg

Leave a Reply

