WLC Days 16 and 17: Roasted Chicken with Fig Sauce

Leave a comment

January 30, 2014 by Lauren Grider

On Monday, I went to work, then to Crossfit Impulse, where I completed a chipper scaled to the bronze level because I can’t do double unders and strict pushups. WOD: 20 incline pushups, 20 burpees, 40 overhead squats at 31 lb, and 100 singles (jumprope) for time – 15:03.

On Tuesday, I went to work, then to teach Zumba, where I had a fantastic class despite the freezing weather. Huntsville was super cold, and we got a dry dusting of snow, but had no major traffic problems, thank goodness.

How can it be true that I am almost through my 3rd official week of the Whole Life Challenge? Time flies.

Roasted Chicken with Fig Sauce

Ingredients:
4 chicken thighs
1/2 cup coconut aminos
2 cloves garlic
3 dried figs (no sugar added- read the label carefully)
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup homemade chicken broth

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Season chicken thighs with salt and pepper to taste. Place in a glass baking dish.

20140129-213355.jpg

Place the coconut aminos, garlic, chicken broth and figs into a food processor or blender and mix thoroughly. The resulting sauce should be salty-sweet, and it makes a great chicken marinade. I used to use a similar recipe (from my non-WLC days: sugar, soy sauce and garlic) to make candied garlic chicken wings, which are out of this world. So, I guess you could say this was a substitution attempt. I was pretty happy with the result overall, but if I had to do it again, I would’ve used only 2 dried figs because the sauce was too thick and didn’t spread easily. Yeah, it kind of looks like vomit because it is too thick. Deal with it. Bake at 400 degrees for about an hour or until juices run clear.

20140129-213405.jpg

The resulting chicken was moist and had a great flavor. Again, I wish the sauce wasn’t so thick. Ah well, there’s always next time! Here it is with some sweet potato fries and cucumber slices with homemade paleo ranch dressing.

20140129-213549.jpg

Leave a Reply

