WLC Day 7: Filet Mignon with Collard Greens and Sweet Potato Oven Fries

Leave a comment

January 19, 2014 by Lauren Grider

Yesterday was our first day seeing patients in the new office, and it was a little crazy because there is still construction going on and I haven’t yet learned where everything is located. I had almond butter and a banana for breakfast because I didn’t have any leftovers from the night before and I woke up late. For lunch, I went to a local Thai restaurant, where I have gotten to know the owner, and had one of my favorites, khao soi, made-to-order without noodles. As I mentioned earlier, I was completely out of protein at home, so I went to Kroger, where filets were on sale for $9.99/lb. That’s a pretty spectacular deal! I grabbed 2 filets and some collard greens, and ran home to make dinner.

Yet again, I failed to take step-by-step pictures because I was just so hungry, but, really, this is pretty self-explanatory.

20140118-212320.jpg

Filet Mignon

Ingredients:
2 beautiful filets
House Seasoning to taste
2 tbsp butter
desired spices to taste (I used oregano, rosemary, red pepper flakes, and House Seasoning)

Allow the steaks to rest at room temperature prior to cooking. For indoor cooking, heat an iron skillet over medium-high heat. For outdoor cooking, fire up that charcoal grill! Season both sides of the filets with house seasoning to taste (season liberally).

Soften butter slightly in the microwave (~20 secs), and stir until spreadable. Add desired spices and mix. I used 2 pinches of house seasoning, 3 “shakes” of red pepper flakes, 1/2 tsp rosemary and 1/2 tsp oregano. Stir. Now you have delicious herbed butter for your steak!

First, sear the steaks on both sides over high heat for 1 minute on each side. Then, reduce heat (or change to indirect heat on the grill) and cook to desired doneness. Before removing from the grill, place 1 tbsp of the herbed butter on top of each steak. Remove filets from heat, cover with foil and allow to rest for 10-15 minutes before serving.

The sides: I took 2 handfuls of washed collard greens and added them with a pat of butter to the cast iron skillet that I used to make the steaks, seasoned with 2 pinches of House Seasoning, covered and cooked on low until tender. I also made sweet potato oven fries. It was fantastic!

20140118-212311.jpg

Leave a Reply

