WLC Day 5: Lettuce-Wrapped Burgers with Spicy Mayo and Sweet Potato Fries

1

January 16, 2014 by Lauren Grider

I’m getting into the swing of things now with my nutrition. No setbacks so far. Yay! The clinic is still not open. Boo! We are hoping for Friday if all goes well from here on out. Yesterday the only problem I had was a tendinitis flare-up in my left elbow, likely from the push-ups and pull-ups we did on Monday. When this happens, it really hurts to extend my elbow or to supinate. It was really flared up yesterday, so I did not go to Crossfit since elbow-intensive movements were on the schedule. Better to rest than to end up getting hurt. However, I did visit Deanna’s Zumba class at the Hogan Y for the first time since the New Year arrived, and I had a great time as always. I think going to other instructors’ classes is essential for all Zumba instructors. And, I mobilized the heck out of my elbow with a firm ball.

In the food realm, I had raw almond butter and an apple for breakfast and leftover spicy cinnamon chili for lunch. I have been craving a really good burger and dying to use my paleo mayo, so I did just that for dinner.

Lettuce-Wrapped Burgers with Spicy Mayo and Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients:
Burgers:
1 large lettuce leaf for each burger (I used iceberg)
1 lb ground beef (yields 4 burgers)
House Seasoning to taste
Essence Seasoning to taste
your favorite approved burger garnishes, like olives and avocado
Spicy Mayo:
2 tbsp homemade Paleo mayonnaise
Frank’s Red Hot Sauce to taste (carefully review ingredients to ensure you have the original, approved type)
Sweet Potato Fries:
1 large sweet potato
2 tsp coconut oil
House Seasoning to taste
ground cinnamon to taste

I’m organizing the write-up so that you can prepare all of these things in the most efficient manner possible, so it may seem jumbled. Trust me on this- you don’t want to get your burgers done and realize you haven’t cooked the fries yet. So, first of all, make sure that you have some of the homemade Paleo mayo on hand, and if not, for heaven’s sake, start that first because getting the egg to room temp is the longest of any of the steps. I would recommend just making a batch and keeping it in the fridge ready for use. Also, go ahead and put your ground beef out on the counter so that it can warm up slightly, which makes it easier to deal with.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Slice sweet potato into long, thin chunks. Aim for a “steak fries” shape. Melt 2 tsp coconut oil in a mixing bowl (I used the microwave), add the sliced sweet potatoes, and season with House Seasoning and cinnamon to taste before mixing well.

20140116-113643.jpg

Spread the spice-coated sweet potatoes onto a cookie sheet and bake for approximately 20 minutes, or until soft and golden brown. Check on these after 15 minutes because once they start getting done, they rapidly progress to over-done.

20140116-113653.jpg

After you get the sweet potatoes in the oven, form patties with the ground beef and season on both sides with House Seasoning and Essence Seasoning. Throw them on the grill or cook them in a cast iron skillet until desired doneness is reached.

20140116-113701.jpg

While the burgers are cooking, add Frank’s Red Hot Sauce (being careful to ensure that it is the approved version that only contains peppers, vinegar and spices) to 2 tbsp of Paleo Mayo to taste. I like it pretty spicy, so I add lots of drops. It is hard to measure hot sauce, so I go by the color of the resulting mixture, which I like to be a nice pale peach. Definitely taste test as you go, because you can always add more, but you can’t remove the hot sauce once it’s in there.

Now, assemble your delicious, easy meal. Place burgers on lettuce leaves and top with your favorite paleo ingredients. Here we have some sliced avocado and kalamata olives (be sure to review ingredients- I found a brand that only contains olives, sea salt and vinegar), and of course the spicy paleo mayo we just made. Throw those oven fries on the plate, and you’re done. I would strongly suggest dipping those fantastic sweet potato fries into the spicy paleo mayo- it will make your life complete.

20140116-114539.jpg

One thought on “WLC Day 5: Lettuce-Wrapped Burgers with Spicy Mayo and Sweet Potato Fries

  1. The Editors of Garden Variety says:

    Hmmmm….this really looks good!

Leave a Reply

