WLC Day 4: Spicy Cinnamon Chili and iPhone App Review

2

January 15, 2014 by Lauren Grider

Day 4 was much better than Day 3. I focused on featuring protein every time I ate, and I could tell a big difference in my energy. I also focused on not going overboard into carb land. I am trying to stay at around 35 grams of net carbs per day. But Lauren, some of you will say, why the focus on restricting carbs? The short answer is that it’s the best way for me to eat in terms of fat loss and in terms of PCOS and Hashimoto’s disease, both of which I have. The long answer is that more and more research is supporting the idea that carbohydrate restriction is a good idea for everyone (maybe not as low as 35 net carbs, but certainly lower than the 1 zillion found in all of the processed foods we eat).

Anyway, the clinic is still not ready to open. 😦 Yesterday I had leftover grilled spiced chicken for both breakfast and lunch, and now it’s all gone. I taught Zumba last night at the Hogan YMCA. I didn’t feel as tired as I did the day before.

For dinner, I made chili. Now I don’t want to toot my own horn, but I can make a mean bowl of chili. But, my go-to seasoning mix contains MSG. Boo! I had to come up with my own seasonings last night, and I think it turned out great!

Spicy Cinnamon Chili

Ingredients:
1 lb ground beef
1 tbsp coconut oil
1 small onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
15 oz tomato sauce
3 tsp House Seasoning
1 tsp cumin
2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp mustard powder
1/8 to 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (to taste)

Melt the coconut oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the diced onions and minced garlic. Cook until soft. Then, add the ground beef and brown. Add the seasonings and tomato sauce and mix well. Simmer on low at least 10-15 minutes. The longer it simmers, the better it will taste. On the cayenne pepper, be careful. It sneaks up on you. I really like my food spicy, so I have to watch it when I cook for others. I ended up adding only the 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper, and it was only mild. Add it slowly and taste as you go to make sure you don’t have a burn out.

20140115-124613.jpg

iPhone App Review

One thing I really liked about Weight Watchers was the idea of tracking what you eat day-to-day. This helps you remember how you’ve done and not underestimate the amount of food you’ve eaten. This helps me determine whether I am experiencing legitimate hunger or not. So, I downloaded the Atkins Carb Tracker and gave it a whirl. This is a free app. It is obviously geared towards the Atkins plan, but that doesn’t mean you have to use it in that way. The things I like the best are the food database and the pie chart showing the percentage of protein/fat/carbs you’ve eaten so far during the day. It also makes it easy to track net carbs. It comes with a daily plan feature that you can turn off- I strongly recommend turning it off because it is annoying. The only aspect that irritates me is that you can’t make a custom addition to the database or record your own values for things like recipes. But, it’s a free app, so I can live with that. Has anyone seen a different free daily tracker app that they like? Or a paid one that is so great that I can’t live without it? If so, please let me know in the comments.

2 thoughts on “WLC Day 4: Spicy Cinnamon Chili and iPhone App Review

  1. danilatham says:

    I haven’t used any tracking apps, I’ve gotten to where I know legitimate hunger because I’ve fine tuned my eating habits and the fuel I use, and I’m willing to bet that once you settle into your new “nutrition lifestyle” you won’t need the app either!! 🙂

    Also, that chili looks amazing!! Did you miss having beans in it? I miss beans.

    • I don’t really miss beans at all. I’ve never been really big on beans.

      I think most people would get to the point that they didn’t need to track, but I definitely need it. I can overeat almost anything, especially when I’m stressed.

Leave a Reply

