Apple-Roasted Chicken Leg Quarters

Leave a comment

October 10, 2013 by Lauren Grider

So, I’ve been away for a while, and in the mean time life has been eventful. I started Crossfit in June at Crossfit Impulse. I changed jobs in July for increased quality of life at home. In August, I travelled to Orlando, FL for the 2013 Zumba Instructor Convention. In September, we went on our yearly one-week beach vacation to the Henderson Park Inn in Destin, FL. And now here we are in October, my favorite time of year!

This week chicken leg quarters are on sale at Publix for $1.49/lb, which is a great deal. And since Publix was out of my favorite organic whole chicken, I bought the leg quarters on sale instead. I figured they would cook in the crockpot just like this Whole Chicken in a Crockpot recipe, and I was right! I changed up the spices and thew in some onions and apples, and it was delicious! I had a chicken thigh for dinner along with some collard greens and a sliced fresh apple on the side. Woot woot!

Apple Roasted Chicken Thighs

Ingredients:
4 chicken leg quarters (or apparently any other type of chicken in an equivalent amount, approximately 3.5 lb)
2 small Fuji apples
2 small yellow onions
House Seasoning, 2 tbsp

20131009-214704.jpg

Slice onions and apples and place in the bottom of a large slow cooker.

20131009-214710.jpg

Apply House Seasoning evenly to the chicken pieces. Add to slow cooker and cook on high for 3.5 to 4 hours or until cooked through.

20131009-214722.jpg

I like to leave mine in until it is falling off the bone, because I shred the chicken for use in meals throughout the week. Then, if you like, you can throw all those bones back into the crockpot, fill with water, and cook on low overnight for 10-12 hours to make the most fabulous Crockpot Chicken Stock.

The apples left over in the slow cooker are not for eating, but they really combine well with the onion and make the chicken flavorful. The chicken paired well with the sliced fresh apple for dinner.

20131009-214750.jpg

Leave a Reply

