Portobello Pizzas – It’s True! And 2 Points Plus each!

1

January 31, 2013 by Lauren Grider

20130130-223953.jpg

We have all seen the posts at Pinterest, and even Once A Month Mom has posted a version, but does this really work?

The answer is yes! But there is one very important secret to making this recipe a success. Read on.

Individual Portobello Pizzas

Ingredients:
4 large portobello mushrooms
1/2 cup shredded skim milk mozzarella
8 thin-cut slices of Boar’s Head pepperoni
variety of veggies of your choice (optional)

A note about the pepperoni: I go to the deli section at my local grocery store and have it cut by hand. I ask for the thinnest slice they can do, and get 8 slices. This usually weighs about 3/4 of an ounce.

I have tried to make these many different times, and initially I had one big problem: the mushrooms were too juicy. The liquid from baking or broiling would either leak all over the place and require eating the mushrooms with a knife and fork, or the liquid would lay in wait and burn the crap out of my tongue when I bit into the mushroom. Also, they were so juicy that topping them with any type of tomato sauce just made the whole thing way too messy.

The solution is to roast the mushrooms first, then add toppings at the last minute. And, when you roast the mushrooms, you need to place them cap side up to allow the liquid to drain and evaporate during roasting. After removing the stems and cleaning with a damp cloth, I roast them for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees, but you should hang around and keep an eye on them to make sure they do not dry out. You want the liquid to evaporate, but you don’t want to accidentally make mushroom chips.

Remove the roasted mushrooms from the oven, turn cap side down, and top with desired toppings. Even with pre-roasting upsidedown, they remain pretty juicy. For this reason, I don’t like to put tomato sauce on mine, but if you like it, why not? Give it a whirl. I use 2 slices of pepperoni per mushroom, but decreasing the pepperoni may decrease the Points Plus value further if you want that kind of thing. I think 2 Points Plus each is a deal, and I like pepperoni. I place one slice of pepperoni closest to the mushroom, top with 1/8 cup of cheese, and place a second slice of pepperoni on top. Repeat for the remaining 3 mushrooms. Add whatever veggies strike your fancy. Then, broil for 1-2 minutes if you like the cheese melty, or a little longer if you want them browned, but do not walk away because there is only a window of a few seconds between perfectly golden brown and scorched, at least in my oven anyway.

Allow mushrooms to rest for 1-2 minutes before serving. When made this way, I can pick them up and eat them like a real slice of pizza!

Yield: 4 individual mushroom “pizzas”
2 Weight Watchers Points Plus per individual mushroom pizza as calculated using Recipe Builder.

One thought on “Portobello Pizzas – It’s True! And 2 Points Plus each!

  1. weight loss says:

    Pretty element of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog
    and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account
    your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing for your feeds and even I success you get entry to
    constantly quickly.

Leave a Reply

