Shrimp and Grits – Beat the Clock Thursdays

Leave a comment

January 25, 2013 by Lauren Grider

On Thursdays I have to get a good, filling dinner on the table quickly. I leave work sometime after 6 PM (or on nights like last night I am still in the exam room at 6:15) and I head home, where I have to make dinner, eat it, get changed and be back in the car by 7:30 on my way to teach Zumba class at 8 PM. Needless to say, this poses some unique challenges. I have had to get good at coming up with a true 15 minute dinner. Not only does it need to be cooked, but I have to have time to eat it. And it needs to be substantial- I can’t make it through an hour of high intensity cardio running on fumes. So, that brings us to Beat the Clock Thursdays: a collection of quick dinners that will satisfy.

20130125-001308.jpg

Shrimp and Grits

This is a variation on a Clean Eating Recipe. Jason doesn’t care for peppers or onions, so a lot of the time I leave them out. Or, if I’m not in a hurry, I have been known to make one version for me and another for him. But we don’t have time for that on Beat the Clock Thursday. This is great served by itself, or with broccoli, a salad or fresh roasted corn.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup uncooked quick-cooking grits
2 cups water
1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
a dash of cayenne pepper
1 ounce shredded cheddar cheese
House Seasoning to taste
1.5 tsp olive oil
1 pound of uncooked shrimp
2 tsp Essence Seasoning

Bring 2 cups of water to a boil and stir in grits. Reduce heat to low, cover, and cook 5 minutes or until liquid is absorbed.

20130125-001108.jpg

Meanwhile, place shrimp and olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. I prefer to use my olive oil sprayer to coat the shrimp, but this is optional. Sprinkle evenly with Essence seasoning. Cook through, remove from heat and set aside.

20130125-001130.jpg

Season grits: add Worcestershire sauce, cayenne pepper, and cheddar cheese (I prefer extra sharp cheddar), mixing well. Add House Seasoning to taste.

Spoon grits onto serving plates. Top with equal portions of shrimp.

Yield: 4 servings
Weight Watchers Points Plus per serving, calculated using recipe builder: 6 points plus

20130125-001329.jpg

Leave a Reply

