A better way to cook corn on the cob? Why yes, yes it is.

Leave a comment

January 24, 2013 by Lauren Grider

I absolutely love fresh corn on the cob, but let’s be real here- shucking it is a pain in the butt. Try as I might, I could never quite get all of the silk. I saw a pin floating around on Pinterest last month: never boil corn again! I gave it a whirl, yielding fantastic results.

The original pin has been flagged for inappropriate content. So, I have absolutely no clue where this idea originated. I saw a few other blog posts about it, but judging by the dates I suspect they are not the originators of the idea either. If this is your intellectual property, let me know. I photographed the corn below.

Easy Roasted Corn on the Cob

20130123-231257.jpg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place fresh ears of corn, husk and all, on a cookie sheet and slap ’em in the oven. Bake for 30 or 40 minutes. I don’t think that the time matters very much because I have forgotten about them and cooked them for an hour- still came out perfect. When you are ready to serve them, remove them from the oven. Chop off the base of the ear of corn and “squeeze” the ear out of the husk.

20130123-231307.jpg

Just as advertised, no silk to mess with! It will be hot- use oven mitts! Optional: add melted butter and/or salt, pepper and spices. For the record, I have been serving the corn without any butter lately and it has still been fantastic.

20130123-231340.jpg

In my search, I also found this tip for microwaving fresh corn if anyone is interested. I have not tried this, but it seems like the same basic principle.

Leave a Reply

